Up With The Lark

Today I had a long overdue catch up and day out with a couple of my birding mates . I don't get to go with them to much now as one of them works a lot of weekends and the prefer to go in the week when places are not so busy.. Following a text message to them to say I was off work for the week it was arranged that they would pick me up and we would head out in search of migrants .
Our 1st port of call produced this little beauty a Wood Lark sat on the wires and managed to get fairly close to grab some shots before it flew off . We did catch up with it again and watched it displaying with aa 2ndd bird  which was amazing to see as we had never seen them like that on the ground.
Perfect weather to be out and about but sadly not to much more about a few common migrants but nothing rare and surprisingly hardly any waders in the 3 other locations we visited . 
But never mind it was just nice to be out and about and having a catch up on life with my mates and learning that one of them had had a heart attack 2 months ago but pleased to say he is back on his feet and was out with us today. I have included a couple of extras a lovely Small copper butterfly and a rather big caterpillar which I don't know what it is .
Back home  and then a trip to place my X in the local elections . A relaxed evening is now planed with a film after 2 nights of football and a couple of beers . Julie is at work but she shouldn't be to late tonight so she might have cider or 2 as today is 27 years since we met 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.