The Sun doesn’t Always Shine in Stromness Day18

It was definitely a day off two halves. The first half was miserable with mist shrouding the landscape and a smirr of rain ever present except when it intensified to proper grown up rain borne in on a gusty breeze at the exact time as I was exiting the sea and trying to get dried. Having struggled somewhat, I padded back to the flat getting wetter by the minute.

The second half arrived at the moment I discarded my wet clothes and stepped into a hot shower. The mist disappeared in an instant, the rain stopped and the sun came out. Unbelievable. A miraculous transformation, just a little too late for my high tide egress.

Dinner was at the Merkister Hotel overlooking Loch Harray in the company of my personal taxi driver and the current Mrs Creel. It was 2 hours of gastronomic delight in excellent company.

The modern building at the top right is part of The Heriot Watt University being its International Centre for Island Technology (ICIT), part of the School of Energy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.