Hunter Gatherer

When out of the blue the urge to peel and chop overcomes me, I find it best to succumb and go along with it. It happened this morning which meant a visit to M&S in town to buy vegetables singly rather than in pre packed bags. It also meant dodging tourists pulling oversized cases and walking at holiday speed taking up the whole pavement. There is another food M&S I can reach in Morningside, but it is further away and much smaller. However for the sake of my mental health, I may use it over the summer months.

With my innner hunter gatherer self fulfilled, I set about peeling and chopping to make a very large pan of spicy vegetable stew. I quite forgot the kidney beans but remembered the green lentils. Daughter#1, still in Edinburgh, will come and help me eat some of it tonight once I’ve returned from the TGIF drinks with the neighbours.


It may be worthy to note that the sun has just broken through the clouds and the temperature has risen 10° to 14°. A few brave people are actually sitting on the Meadows….. in anoraks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.