Au Revoir, Orkney. Till we Meet Again- Day19

Today was a day of ‘Au Revoirs’ as I bid farewell to my home for the last three weeks in Orkney.
First was my farewell to Lolz in her café and a thank you for the many scones straight out of the oven and for her company in the cold waters of Hamnavoe. Also in her cafe today I said cheerio to the regulars who have chatted to me on the occasions I have been in.

I said a farewell to the slipway in Stromness which has hosted me most days as I slid under the waves and to the Majestic Mermaid who was kind enough to give me a lift there three times this last week.

I said au revoir to the lady in the wool shop whose brains I have picked on several occasions and finally a cheerio to the best situated library in the UK that I know of, one where you can sit on a comfy leather settee and look over Hamnavoe before having a nap

My blip of the night view from the window beside my bed I will miss so much- it looks like fairyland when I wake in the middle of the night. Tonight I will be trying to sleep in a berth on the ferry to Aberdeen. My faithful taxi driver is very kindly taking me to the port at 10:30 pm.
I’ll see you on the mainland tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.