Blue

Heliophila coronipifolia, an annual native to Namaqualand and the Western Cape.   It grew in this spot last year and left many seeds.   Lot's germinated over the winter but only a few have survived cold and wind to flower this spring.   I have more seed that I saved and will scatted some - if it ever rains again!

A quiet day at the cafe and an early finish thanks to that.   I had a little snooze before cooking some barbecue pork for tea and popped a sponge in the oven for pudding later.   Just as the sponge was cooked, Ruth was in touch with the exciting news that she has (bravely) ventured out on her own from the flat.  No mean feat as without ramped access, and exiting into a narrow passage, getting herself and the wheelchair out is not easy.   She's voted and been to Wickes, finding 5L of paint heavier than expected as she wheeled herself back up the hill.   I just checked and she has managed to get back in!   In the excitement of her video call from the great outdoors, I forgot to take the sponge out of the oven before Meg and I left for the beach!   

The extra pic tells it's own story.  We had a lovely walk .... and took our time before coming home.   The sponge was black and rather charcoal round the edges but Katie and I still demolished the middle with lashings of syrup :-)   She's staying over to look after Meg - I'm off at 630am for another day trip to see Ruth.

Happy Days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.