Cats, beans and spuds!

Another average day today - dull, chilly and dry. After a morning indoors we went down to the Walled Garden at Glencruitten after lunch - the first visit of the year - to have a look at my two veggie beds and plant the seed potatoes.  This year I'm trying 'Foremost' and 'Caledonian Pink', first early and maincrop respectively. 

I would have liked to have done more, but being unsure of the state of my back did just a bit of weeding on the runner bean side and stripped the old vines from the sticks. If my runner beans are big enough I'll try to get them planted out next week before going down to London to see family. I hope that we'll not get any more frost - it has been known into early May, but not this year, I hope!

Green Shoots, who runs the Walled Garden, have a new manager this year and she's keen to make improvements and expand the range of plants grown, especially fruit trees and wild flowers. It must have been a great place in its heyday!

My extra is of a cat who came and sat on the bank opposite the kitchen window today. We've seen him or her before, but doesn't seem bothered about invading our cats' territory!

Quote of the Day: "An onion can make people cry, but there's never been a vegetable that can make people laugh"! - Will Rogers.

(He hasn't seen some of mine!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.