The show must go on

Another dull, overcast day today, but I'd decided to attend the Scottish Rhododendron Society's annual show, which hasn't taken place for a couple of years. A 140 mile round trip to Garelochhead and back, on comparatively quiet roads, apart from the odd campervan and a number of crazy motorcyclists some of whom overtook me at totally ridiculous speeds. No wonder several riders are killed round here every year!

It was wonderful to catch up with so many old rhododendron buddies from years gone by, most of whom I haven't seen for a few years. I spent a lot of time yakking, as you can imagine! Lots of beautiful rhododendrons - and associated plants. It was almost like old times!

The last few miles towards home were driven in lovely sunshine  - glorious!

Quote of the Day: "I love everything that's old - old friends, old times, old manners, old wine." - Oliver Goldsmith.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.