Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

At the moment, I am sitting out on my patio. Not because I want to. It’s 96°/36°. I had a clogged bathroom sink. So, I decided that today would be the day I unclogged it. I did, and it worked. But the stuff I used created a horrible, sickening chemical smell in the entire house. I’ve had to open the front and back doors to try to get some cross breeze. But there’s not a hint of one. I have fans trying to suck up or blow it out. It’s not very eye, nose and throat friendly. Another in a long list of lessons learned. I should write a book: “How to avoid becoming an idiot after 65.”

So here I sit, grateful to be in the shade. There’s usually a bright side if you look for it. I saw a hummingbird go to this aptly named Fairy Duster and my very small purple salvia for the first time. Several species of birds have been brave enough to come for water or send a scout to see if I’m a threat to their quest to eat their sweets. I also spotted my first saguaro flower and my first cholla flower. They may be coming soon to a blip journal near you.

In the end, nature smiled at me and I was able to smile back.

Have an enjoyable weekend. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.