Friends visit - day 2

I didn't want to make the mistake I made yesterday, so after breakfast Mollie took this photo of us all in the garden.

Everyone slept well - we didn't go to bed until getting on for 1.30am, after a full day of catching up. There is always SO MUCH catching up, we struggle to squeeze in eating and drinking, and the breathing we take turns while not speaking. Unless we are all speaking at the same time - it is not unheard of to overlap each other with eager stories. I know Karen and Joanne are probably both like me and keen to say things while we remember what it is we want to say!!

It was a warm sunny day, and we chatted in the conservatory until midday, following breakfast with coffee, joined by Mollie. The menfolk went to archery as usual, then on to Cley for some bird spotting. To elaborate on yesterday, we spent the afternoon in Sheringham - most of it in the Whelk Coppers with an extended lunch. Back home we had a brief visit from Daniel. As Joanne, Karen & I have all known each other since before we had our children, it was nice for them to see Dan while they were here. Our children have all met each other at various times over the last 20 plus years, and it's nice to be updated with the latest news of the growing offspring. Joanne in particular has had exciting news this year, with 2 of hers getting on the housing ladder, and one proposal of marriage, and more news besides.

Back to today, after our coffee I made some simple ham sandwiches and we drove to West Runton, parked and went down onto the beach. It was cooler than in my garden. The sea breeze lowering the temperature significantly, but we walked along almost to East Runton then sat on a concrete slab to eat our sandwiches. See my extra photos. There were families on the beach, but not in the sea which was quite rough. There were surfers in the sea though. We picked up stones with the odd fossil, and also found what looked like a baby shark. Jon has since told me it was a dogfish. Don't worry girls, you still made it to be the blip and the dogfish is relegated to extras! We walked back to the car and home. It was lovely and warm in the garden and Jon and Henry had the lounging chairs out so we joined them for a while.

My lovely friends left for their respective homes around 4.30 with a 2 hour drive ahead of them.

I've had a truly lovely weekend. I have felt well. Better than I have for ages. I hope I stay like it for the work days! I miss these lovely ladies and hope to see them again soon.

Roasted a gammon for dinner, which was very tasty. Went for a quick walk to the allotment where at last the hens were behaving a bit better towards each other, and at least when I fed them, all 4 ate from the one feeder without any upset. There was a little pecking still from Flora, but they were coping together and I'm hopeful they are now becoming friends.

I got my summer clothes out of the loft and have started to sort and swap. There are a lot, and I'm still wondering why I still have bikinis in there. They will never be worn, unless under a giant t shirt!! Ran out of energy for this evening so will continue tomorrow after work.

Now heading to bed to catch up on last night's missed hours!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.