No Mow May

This morning I had a long telephone chat with my sister in Australia, who is visiting the UK in June We haven't seen her in person  for three years.
Then we spent time  in the garden tidying up, and planting out the bean plants we acquired yesterday.
We are not cutting most of our lawn during May and, being in effect chalk down land, it is full of  little  wildflowers, including this one. It may be called Common Vetch (Vicia sativa) but viewed close up it really is very pretty, I think. 
Other plants I've found there, so far, include  Cowslip, Birds foot trefoil, Daisy, Ground Ivy, Yarrow and Forget-me-not. I am sure more will become apparent over the next few weeks.
Not such a good discovery was finding the caterpillars of the Box Tree Moth devastating our box hedge. We think we'll  leave alone to see if the  birds pick off the caterpillars. Maybe  try another  biological control -nematodes? If the box doesn't survive we will  replace it  with something else, as I think it is futile  to fight nature.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.