Wishing Well

The last couple of times I’ve played “Wishing Well” with the band, I’ve felt I’ve not been nailing the iconic riff properly. I wasn’t sure if I was hitting a wrong note, adding a note or missing one out - I just knew it didn’t sound quite right. Couldn’t even tell you if I’d learnt it wrong in the first place or if a mistake had crept in over time!
As it happened, I had the track on a CD in the car, and a recent long(ish) journey gave me the opportunity to listen to it a few times over and work out where I was going wrong. I looked at a couple of tabs online to see if I was right, but none of them matched the way we play the track, so not much help really.
Fortunately, I went through to Barrow this morning to meet Stuart for a coffee, so took the opportunity to check the correct riff with him. It seems I was 90% right with what I’d worked out, and a couple of run throughs had it nailed. All I need to do now is remember it correctly on Saturday, when we have our next gig!
Rain arrived this afternoon so I abandoned ideas of mowing the lawn. Unless the weather improves later this month, I might end up doing “No Mow May” by default. Instead, I checked that various changes I made online to pensions and tax recently had taken effect. They had, so I should be due a small tax refund soon and will be getting (as near as damnit) the full State Pension when the time finally comes to collect it.
Not quite as productive a day as I’d hoped, but I suppose I must be happy that I’ve sorted a few things and it’s only Monday. Let us see what the rest of the week brings…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.