By the river Don

I'd planned to spend the day at Bempton Cliffs today, spotting seabirds. But I slept badly, and decided to put this off till later in the week.
Instead, I went back to a spot I've blipped before - the river Don, where it winds through the city centre.
The attraction was the set of sculptures by Daniel Bustamante. They come and go; winter storms and/or high waters sweep them away and they get remade/replaced. Made from debris found in the river and on its banks, they disappear when the river's high. Maybe, these days, they are retrieved and stored somewhere in the winter? I don't know. The water's low at the moment, and I was able to get right down onto the pebbly bank. I could see that someone had put a little makeshift path of bricks leading to some of the pieces.  Discarded crisp packets and drinks cans, here and there, suggested evening visitors to the bank too.
Bustamante first made these pieces when he was experiencing depression. The reconnection with the river apparently helped him a lot. There's more info about the river and about him here:
https://dcrt.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/Voices-of-the-Don.pdf

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.