Monnow Bridge

I hadn't expected to be in Monmouth today. I planned my journey in Google maps and fully expected that my TomTom would take the same route - wrong! I thought I might come back this way and perhaps meet up with BobsBlips who lives not far away. As I rerouted to find my way to the route I'd expected to take I noticed I was going past the end of Monnow Street and there was the bridge. Well, sometimes fate just directs you and there's no point in going against that! I'll have to find a different place for our mini blipmeet.

It's a medieval fortified bridge and the only remaining fortified river bridge in Great Britain. The structure on the bridge is its gate tower. I took this image from the bank before I went down to river level. The rocks are good but they need a bit of water on them really. 

I carried on my way and as I was passing through the village where my blipmates Draco and (lapsed blipper) PaulaK are staying we arrange to meet up and go back to their lovely little cottage for a cup of tea. It was lovely to see them and I was soon back on my way for the last bit of the journey to Llanberis where I'm installed on a lovely little campsite close to the Llyn.

It's raining - well, I am in Wales.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.