Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Julie survives the slide

I was back at Belsay Hall and Gardens again today, this time with Julie. We had a good lunch at the Blacksmiths before venturing into the garden.

The Hall is clad in scaffolding because the roof is being completely renewed for the first time in over 200 years. Some bright spark has come up with the idea of installing a tubular slide. You climb part way up the scaffolding (40 steps) and then slide down.

Julie went first. I was quite nervous, but, if she could do it, so could I. The expression on my face (captured by Julie and on Facebook) suggests I may have found the experience quite a challenge. It was exhilarating.

We enjoyed the gardens and watched the croquet players for a while.

It is hard to choose an extra but here goes. Can anyone identify these tall flowers?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.