Jet engine

The theme for today's Wide Wednesday Challenge is architecture. Thanks BobsBlips for hosting.

For me, the timing could have been better. I've just visited places with lots of interesting architecture (Bathurst, Millthorpe, Goulburn, Canberra). But today I'm in Lennox Head. Which has, in my humble opinion, only one architecturally interesting building - the Community Centre. I know guys, I've blipped it before and you hate it! But it's all we've got on the serious architecture front.

It's sometimes said that the camel is an animal designed by a committee. And maybe that's the problem with the Lennox Head Community Centre. One firm of architects did the 'concept design' and another took it to completion. Perhaps that's not unusual. 

This website illustrates one stage in the architectural process. They describe the part of the building that I've featured in my blip (the 'administrative centre') as the beehive. Personally, I think it looks more like a jet aeroplane engine

Those blippers who are still with me will have noticed that the part of the building I've featured was designed to be coated with small gold tiles. Whereas my photo shows a quite different surface material.  The building was constructed with small gold tiles. But they fell off! And were recently replaced with what I've photographed. Innovative architecture is tricky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.