Caernarfon Castle

It was raining this morning so I decided to go into Caernarfon, which is only 15 miles or so away. It just happens, as you probably know, to have a very fine castle which is just right for the Wide on Wednesday challenge, hosted by BobsBlips.

I knew the tide would be going out and there'd be some water in the Afon Seiont to give a reflection and get the boats floating. After the rainy start it's been a better day than I expected. I took a few photos, had a walk around town and had a coffee.

On my way back I stopped at Brynrefail. It's at the end of Lyn Padern and has a good view up the lake and on a rare day you can see the top of Snowdon. In my photo (first extra) the top is hidden by a sweep of cloud.

In the afternoon I decided to take another walk up High Street. This time I had discovered that you turn left to get to Llanberis Village (I'm sure it said right on the piece of paper but I can't find it to check).  This time I wanted to turn right and find the slate quarry again. I had the drone with me and went into the site. The sign says keep to the paths etc but there's a dirty great padlock on the gate. It's a nice wooden gate so I was soon over that and found my way to a place overlooking the pit. I put the drone up and whizzed around but it's a bit hard getting the shots without being able to see in and orientate myself. I've got a few shots anyway so my second extra is a drone shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.