A Shining Tree

I had a good night's sleep in the van and once I'd had my breakfast I went off for a walk up the lake bank and followed the Cumbrian Way to the shore at Coniston. I got a takeaway coffee from the Bluebird Cafe and sat in the sun enjoying it. I carried on along the footpath to the head of the lake and into Waterhead on the far bank where I found a sheltered spot and sat on the beach to have my lunch. A couple of mallards kept me company and no doubt cleaned up any scraps I might have left (not many).

I walked back the same way and I seem to have done almost 14 miles. There wasn't a drop of rain all the time I was out and it stayed sunny all the way. There was a good breeze making the water choppy but very pleasant all in all. As I went back up Lake Road in Coniston I noticed this lovely tree with a chunky hill behind it. I've no idea what the hill is, Yewdale Crag maybe. I'd be pleased to know if you can tell me. I waited for the sun to light it up and it obliged after a short wait. I've added an extra of a barn near the sailing club.

I'm back in the van now planning my supper. Once upon a time that meant setting off for a pub. These days it means getting my little microwave from the boot and heating something up. I resume my travels north in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.