WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

A Mishap!

Honestly! I’m not fit to be left alone!
I had all the books from the bookcase in Ikea bags so once I’d finished painting that wall and got it back in place I brought all the books in to fill the shelves. I had put the kettle on to boil and as I was sorting the books I heard the water continually bubbling but not switching off - obviously I hadn’t but the lid down on the kettle. I jumped up and tripped over the big bags and went down in what felt like 3 moves, first knees, then hands and lastly my head banging my face on the kitchen floor. I seemed to fall so awkwardly that I couldn’t save myself. Anyway, I’m OK just a swollen top lip and nose, a bruise on my left upper arm and a massive bruise on my left knee, my collar bone is sore but not broken. Luckily I had an ice pack in the freezer which I put on my mouth for a while. Then I made myself a cup of tea and sat for a while.
Once I had recovered I was back painting the ceiling and walls! I got loads done and should be finished tomorrow. 

130/365 
Mishap!

I had a little mishap today
I went headlong into the kitchen.
How did that happen you may ask.
Carelessness - by my own admission!
I caught my foot on a bag of books
And fell past the open door,
Most of me was in the living room
Just my face was on the kitchen floor.
It was quite a shock to my system
I thought I had broken my nose,
Then I thought ‘Oh God, me crowns!’
My biggest fear is losing those,
But they seem to be intact as yet
Though my top lip is swollen and sore,
I have bruises on my knees and arm
It’s quite hard you know, is that floor!

I wasn’t the only one who had a mishap. Amelia had another competition today in Kirkcaldy. When Sabrina phoned I asked how Amelia had got on. 
She started laughing and said she did her routine perfectly but when the music stopped and she did her final pose, one hand straight up in the air she slipped onto her bum and sat on the ice!  I asked if she had been upset but Sabrina said she just got back up and came off the ice giggling and the pair of them couldn’t stop laughing afterwards. As a contrast to that another little girl was getting a telling off from her mum for not getting a good score :-/. Such activities have got to be fun!

Just had Facetime with bruv - Tony and Diane. Always nice to chat to them.

I’m just going to do another coat of gloss then it’s bedtime. 
The bottom right photo is the skirting board I painted in Brilliant White Gloss 3 years ago. Look how yellow it had gone. When I bought this lot of paint I asked the man in B+Q about it and he said I should use water based gloss as the oil based always turns yellow. I didn’t even know you could get water based gloss. It’s looking nice and bright now. 

Goodnight :-) X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.