JENNY BROWN

A really lovely morning this morning.  I managed to persuade Hubby to leave his garden and allotment for a few hours so we went over to Jenny Brown's Point.

WE drove out of Grange, along A590, down onto the A6 at Levens, through Milnthorpe and turned right at the Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, it's pretty narrow here so luckily I was taking it nice and slow when a rather large car was coming the other way.  No problem I though I'll just reverse a little as I couldn't move into the left due to the enormous pot holes in the side of the road - however the other driver decided he was just going to keep on coming no matter what - he never gave me time to manoeuvrre, he wasn't going to give way he only just got past us with a hair breadth's distance between us, in fact I think he did just touch the wing mirror -  all  because he couldn't wait just a couple of seconds until I reversed!!!  It was an old man too, who are usually much more patient.  Oh well that's life, no damage just a bit flustered - so we just moved on!!!

Hubby has never been there before, although he has been to the Wolf House Gallery and Cafe..  Last time I visited here, last year I think, I didn't go as far as the chimney because I didn't realise you could walk along the paths at the cottages so I missed it.  I was determined to find it this time and I did YEAH!!!

We parked up by the Wolf House Gallery Cafe (now called Wolf and Us) and then walked on down past Gibraltar Farm to Jenny Brown's Point and the beach & chimney.  There was a Royal Mail van following us down, calling at the few houses down there.  We had to step into the side of the hedges for him many times, but no problem as he was doing an important job and he waved and smiled at us each time!!

The tide was only just going out when we got there but you could still get to the chimney easily enough.  It is extremely rocky down there but oh so peaceful and quiet.  we only saw a handful of people, all separately.  So lovely.  It was also extremely windy, but sunny and lovely.

We spent a bit of time down there just walk around the rocks and looking across toe Morecambe, Hest Bank and area.  There was a large flock of Oyster Catchers I think but they were too far away to see clearly even with the binoculars and my zoom lens. 

We then walked back up the road and it was so full of wonderful bird song, I saw some swallows diving into the top of a barn but I couldnt get a photo 'cos it was far too quick.  So much lovely hedgerow flowers too.  Gorgeous in fact.  We even heard a cockerel singing cock-a-doodle doo at 11.00 am (a bit late we though LOL!).  There was just 3 chickens and a cockerel in a very large field, they were most definitely free range!!

We then got back to the Wolf & Us cafe and had the most delicoius bacon  ciabatta I've ever had.  DELICIOUS.  Very tempted with the delicious home-made cakes  but I did resist!!!

I was going to call into the Eric Morecambe Hide on the way home but I couldn't quite remember where it was - I think I passed it but decided ot to turn round  and go back, we'll go there sometime next week when I can findn out better how to get there.  We may even go for a walk on Jack Scout Nature Reserve next time.  

Now back home and will be processing the photos later, just did this one for now for blip.  I will probably do a couple of collages to share tomorrow as I do love a good collage. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.