Our Street

We visited Mary this morning to wish her a Happy Birthday for tomorrow.  I had bought her some flowers in a pretty vase that we took with us, but we weren't long in to the journey before we both started sneezing and blowing our noses.  I wonder if it was the decorative spray of agapanthus??  It looks a bit lily-like and neither of us can do with lilies in the house, flower experts advise please.  So I had to advise Mary to remove the offending flower if it had the same effect on her!

We were late lunch-wise on the way home so we paused in Bingley for a sandwich at the Lounge, braving sitting outside which was fine when the sun came out from behind the clouds, but it is still quite breezy and chill when it clouds over.  Tony had to head off to a local primary school to discuss doing some orienteering so I took the camera out for a short circuit around to the pineapple house to test out my wobbly knee.  The pheasant which has been in the neighbourhood recently sounded very close, and sure enough I spotted it making a racket in David's woodland at the top of the street.  It's call accompanied me all the way around my walk, but there was also the moor cuckoo calling up above me somewhere.  

Two chaps in diggers are doing fairly major drainage works on the lane which will hopefully sort out the problem of the enormous puddles which appear in winter.

I paused at the pineapple house to wait for the sun to appear to blip our street and the modern estate below.  Wrose Hill with its flat top reservoir is in the distance.  The three cows in the field were sitting very companionably.

Back home I took out my bike and pumped up the tyres to see if there was still an issue with the slipping gears.  Our street is too steep for gear testing so I walked it to the end and went up and down a few times, and it is still a problem.  I will have to find a flatter, quieter stretch for more practice I think.

Consider joining www.thebigplasticcount.com 16 - 24 May

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.