pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Fat "yes"

EW2 has been having a little bother with m’boy of late and so I suggested that maybe she would appreciate some one-to-one time with him.

She agreed, which left me and The Youngest to our own devices and I was determined to have an evening of saying “yes” to her. So, we chatted as walked into town for a McDonald’s and stopped to enjoy the wildflowers that were only recently planted and have grown so much already. I queued for our food while she played on the indoor play area and ignored me whilst she played on the screens they have in there now, all the while munching on her McNuggets. She seemed very happy.

We walked back and for the first time in a long while, she asked if I would carry her on my shoulders. Knowing that as we’re both growing; me: older, her: in general, and that these opportunities won’t occur that often, I hoisted her up and we walked most of the rest of the way home chatting.

The remainder of our evening consisted of ice cream, popcorn, cuddles and a repeat viewing of the excellent Ron’s Gone Wrong. 

Saying “yes” does not have a good impact on my waistband, but does earn me a few extra Dad points (and cuddles).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.