In the Smoke

I suppose London shouldn't be called 'The Smoke' any more, though it certainly deserved it in the distant past! My Blip today is the concourse at Waterloo station.

A long journey on the train today, leaving Oban at 9am and arriving in Hampton, SW London, at about 6.30pm.  Not a bad journey, but I got very stiff sitting still for so long; next time I'll book an aisle seat!

What I don't understand is how the great majority of travellers seem to do anything but look out of the window. The wonderful landscapes, the  huge variety of scenery, the great array of trees, of rivers and canals, of sheep, cows, horses and their offspring, the amazing buildings - a total world of wonder out there. Far more fun, obviously, to play with your phone! One woman had two phones which she used alternately. Another guy played games on his laptop from Glasgow to Warrington, barely looking up! In fact while coming out of Waterloo on the suburban train to Hampton, out of the 17 people who were visible from my seat, 14 were playing on their phones, 2 were reading the paper and 1 reading a book! How old-fashioned am I! I brought my Kindle and bought a paper,  but never got round to reading either!

Off to see my old auntie in Kent tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.