Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Goose pimples

I got home by train and blipped  that and watched home a documentairy on Alexei Navalny, a documentairy he realised with his team before he returned to Russia where he was detained on arrival and is emprissoned ever since. On internet I then found that another critic of Putin was detained a month ago there as well... I'd missed that news here in Holland. 
Kara Murza detained in Moscow

Here an interview with one of Navalny's assistents recorded also a month ago. 

This news to me shocked me and reminded me of the words Anna Politkovskaja wrote in 2004 in her book "Putin's Russia' (The Harvill Press, London 2004) "Why do I hate Putin that much? I don't like him because of his essentialness, what is worse than the worst crime, because of his cynism, his racism, his lies, because of his sanctioning the use of gas during the Nord-Ost siege, because of his having killed many many innocent people during his full first reign of four years as president." 

And we're 18 years on and such news continues: listen to this news of three weeks ago

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.