Flossmo

By Flossmo

Wild, it's absolutely...

Today is Floral Friday and the challenge is to photograph a wild flower. The paths around Farnham are stuffed full of hedge parsley at the moment which wouldn't be so unattractive if it didn't have such an unpleasant smell. Here's a small head.

But the challenge reminded me of probably my all time favourite comedy sketch.  It comes from the Not the Nine O'Clock News series and involves an interview between Pamela Stephenson and the late great Mel Smith as an animal behaviour professor who is accompanied by Gerald the Gorilla (Rowan Atkinson in an animal suit). As Pamela Stephenson interviews the Professor, Gerald the Gorilla keeps butting in until the immortal bit where the Professor explains that when he caught Gerald in '68 he was wild, whereupon the gorilla interjects that... 'wild I was absolutely livid'. I remember laughing until I cried the first time I saw it. It still makes me smile and whenever someone asks the question is something wild...? well you know my reply.

You can see the clip here: https://www.facebook.com/BritishComedyGuide/videos/not-the-nine-oclock-news-gerald/767252717054388/. Can it really be forty two years since it was originally transmitted?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.