The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

St Laurence, I presume

On St Laurence's church, Stroud. Our market is in the church hall. Another quiet day, for sales despite the good weather.

Afterwards I went for a haircut. I felt tired after that short interlude and went to a takeaway cafe. It was crowded, with a queue, and so I tried the Sub Rooms cafe. This was deserted. I got a hot chocolate in a vintage mug, and drank it, then started reading my book. Was just thinking about leaving when I accidentally swept the mug on to the floor. It smashed, with an almighty clatter. I haven't been so embarrassed since 1989, when I dropped a canteen tray of fish and chips in a crowded canteen on my induction day in a new job. The woman in the cafe was nice about it, but I beat a retreat.

Stopped at a charity shop and got another smart casual ensemble to wear, for 7.99. Soon I won't recognize myself. Walked home. CS was having a lie down so I joined him and we caught up with some old quiz shows. I made supper (fish, tasty this time) then we watched Have I got News for You.

I've started watching the Shining Girls on Apple TV+. Creepy, very creepy, but I think it's a keeper. Elisabeth Moss, who plays Kirby, the protagonist, is of course more familiar from her central role in The Handmaid's Tale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.