The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Lock-up

Under the Old Town Hall in the Shambles market place are several lock-ups. I think they were originally police cells. There was also a school in the building above, at one time. A notable pupil was John Canton, the physicist, and he is commemorated with a blue plaque. John Wesley, the evangelist, once preached in the market place. He has a blue plaque, too. Nowadays the cells or lock-ups are used by some of the market traders to store their trappings and wares. We take ours home.

Today was beautifully sunny. The customers came, and looked, but at my stall they didn't buy.  Cost of living crisis...

After we'd deposited our bags in the sitting room, CS watched the Cup Final, Chelsea vs Liverpool. I went to read my book in the cabin. Managed a few chapters, then fell asleep in the sunshine. Woke up deeply confused. Came inside. The FA.cup final was still on. Nil-nil at 90 minutes, so it went to extra time. Still nil-nil. Went to penalties. Four-all out of five, so it went on... Finally, in the seventh goal kick, Liverpool won! Poor players, especially those involved in taking the penalties. We were happy. My nephews lived in Preston, and supported Preston North End, and Liverpool in the top flight, when they were kids. As for whom they suppott now, I've no idea. Our local team here is Forest Green Rovers, but they won't be in the FA cup for a while.

And now I'm watching the Eurovision Song Contest! So much excitement in one day: perhaps I'd better make myself a cup of cocoa. No need to fetch my slippers, I'm already wearing them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.