Chafer Beetle Nest

I took myself off to Ham House on the River Thames near Richmond today. My main objective was to search out some flowers for BikerBear's ongong Flower Friday Challenge, but I also intended to challenge myself to a walk along the Thames Path to Teddingdon Lock (although only around a 3-4 mile round trip).

After the customary morning coffee I took a wander round the gardens, and in one of the Widerness gardens I found this oxeye daisy playing host to some unusual-looking beetles.  They looked a bit like those metallic green rose chafers, and indeed a google search later revealed they are a white spotted kind, and just have to be my shot of the day.

... and yes I did do my walk in glorious sunshine up to the lock and weir (extra) and back.  It was a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.