ELSA

Today I decided to head into Newcastle and go to Exhibition Park.  

Exhibition Park is currently home to a spectacular pride of bronze lions. The life-size sculptures are scattered around the city centre park as part of a year-long celebration to mark what would have been the 100th birthday of Bill Travers MBE - co-founder of world-famous organisation Born Free. Bill was from the North East originally so the exhibition is a fitting tribute. The focal point of the outdoor exhibition is a bronze statute of Elsa the lioness  standing on top of a vintage 4x4 surrounded by cubs. If you have seen the iconic 1966 film Born Free, you will recognise this scene.  The sculptures will be on display until 30th June.

Today wasn't a particularly good day to get decent photos - too sunny and there were children everywhere climbing on all the sculptures ( there are notices saying not to climb on them but who can blame the children wanting to have fun. ).  I did manage to get some shots of the sculptures on their own - see Extra collage. 

The Park was very busy. The weather was warm and sunny and the cafe was popular. Ive added another collage showing The Wylam Brewery and views of the lake in the park.  I didn't realise till I uploaded the photo of the brewery that a bride and groom are standing on the steps.

Its a long walk to the park from my bus stop ..... and a long walk back  - so I made a few stops on the way.  Not easy to find a vacant seat in town but I used the odd low wall here and there.  Did some shopping in Waitrose before catching my bus,

When I turned on the TV this evening the F A Cup was still going on so I watched the Extra Time ... and then the penalty shoot out.  Well done to Liverpool.

Then it was time for Eurovision.  Great performance by Sam Ryder for the UK.  Hope he does well.  ( The voting is still going on.)

Steps today - 10,353

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.