Das ist nicht eine Ente.

Thereby hangs a "tale".  It seems, decades ago, some sprogs were learning German. There was a deal of question/answer involvement:-
"Was ist D'as?
"Das ist nicht eine hund, Das ist eine (Thingy)". - SO - Ever after, if they wanted to know what an item was they'd say 
"Was ist Das?" with the inevitable answer.
OK - SO - why is this not a Duck?

A few days ago it was decided, in view of Clicky and Jerra's involvement in "The Mate's" passing, Wednesday (going out day) would fall on Saturday, and I'd meet them @ Melki, rather than be picked up and travel with them, as was oft the case.  That way I could got to their Pad for a meal and return under my own steam.

At my request, we went for our Brew up onto the Balcony.  I hadn't been up there since I don't know when and they had both Blipped the Wisteria a week ago.  I'm afraid I was that chuffed I went over-board.

OK - where does the Duck come in?  

Well, the meal happened to be Duck Breasts in Plum Sauce, one of our (Alice and my) favourites, and would have been the Blip, but for the Wisteria.
During the course of said meal I asked - "What are we celebrating?"  Before I actually got a straight answer the light dawned.

1. The month is May.
2. The date is 14th.
3. For the first time since 21:00 Mon 5th Dec 2016 I had forgotten Alice's Birthday.


: ¬ (

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.