Abundance

With my eye infection clearing up now, I felt up to using the car, and went to Woolley Wood with Val (old friend) this morning. She hadn't been before, and was keen to see the bluebells.
They're coming to the end of their flowering period now, in the sunniest places, and beginning to set seed. The wild garlic, on the other hand, is at its frothy height, and bracken is gradually unfurling and spreading too. It all feels full of intense energy.
We met two grey-haired men, walking their dogs. Spotting my camera, they thought I was looking out for birds. I explained that I wasn't doing that on this trip, but was interested in general. They are both local residents, and went on to describe their various bird sightings in the area in different seasons.  If I'd been alone I might have plucked up my courage and asked if I could take their portraits (with dogs, of course). Another Sunday morning, maybe; I got the feeling that this was a regular routine for them.
My mapping of Woolley Wood is beginning to include its human visitors, as well as the flora and fauna.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.