JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

May...

Such a beautiful time, with new sights to enjoy every day in the garden.  We're experimenting with 'no mow May'... when we eventually come to cut the grass, I'm now wondering how well the ancient, battered little electric lawnmower will cope. Meanwhile the pollinators look happy :-)
A busy day: Josh and Ruth have now come down with the gastric bug that both boys had last week. Eben was well enough for school though, so I walked him over there early, and then came back to pick up Luca.  Luca is totally recovered, and we had a lively day together.
Later I took him back, stayed for a cuppa in the garden and then took Eben to his 5.30 drum lesson. He finds a full 30 mins quite demanding. But so far, that seems to be working: from what I can see and hear from my perch in the corner of the room, he's enjoying the challenge. This week, Anthony (the tutor) got him to practise each part of the basic rock beat separately, before putting them all together again.
My fingers are just itching to get hold of the drumsticks though.... I learned to play drums in my 30s and 40s, and enjoyed it until the demands of work + teenagers just left too little time to do it justice. Watching Eben brings back some good memories. Josh is a good guitarist and ukelele player, so I'm hoping they'll enjoy some music-making together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.