Not Quite What I Wanted

I snapped awake at an ungodly hour this morning and was immediately awake with no chance of getting back to sleep.
Since it was nice I headed out to try and get a shot (or more) of the Rape flowers I had spotted the other day (the  number of fields of it has dropped dramatically over the last 4 or 5 years).
I was there within 15 minutes and the clouds were already building up so I had to grab the shots quickly before the blue vanished. For the first time in ages I had taken the fisheye so there are some 'slightly unusual' shots.

While I was there I saw and heard something I haven't in so many years ........... Skylarks - 2 of them.
They brought back memories of my youth, lying on the Pentland Hills watching and listening to them.

On the way home I saw the tractor tracks and was able to find a farm track that I was able to stop in. Unfortunately, I was unable to get to a vantage point looking straight up the lines.

After breakfast I went out to see if I was going to have to remove the Pieris bush to accommodate the new bin that the council delivered yesterday. 
We now have 4 huge bins for recycling .... garden waste -- general waste -- paper & cardboard (must be clean, dry and flat) -- cans, and plastic (again, have to have been washed and dried). Everything has to be clean & dry so as not to 'contaminate' the bins and make sure everything is suitable for recycling. 
I would love to know how well the council clean and dry the refuse lorries every day, also why their recycling numbers have not gone up despite all the extra recycling the public is doing (as attested to by any trip to the recycling yard).
A spot of trimming and a game of Tetris with the bins meant that (for now) the Pieris can stay and all the bins can be accessed.

While doing this I came across a tree branch which had been lying for years and looked like it was completely rotten. 
When I tried breaking it .... it wouldn't. 
So I took it to the garage to cut it into smaller lengths before binning it.
It turns out that it is a length of Laburnum and by removing the sapwood I will have some usable bits of what is known as one of Britain's exotic woods.
Bonus!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.