A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Beach beauties - the story.**

A stunning morning followed by a lovely sunny and warm day. Heck!

A leisurely breakfast followed by a walk to the beach. I’d seen some lovely primroses tumbling down the cliff sides in the little coves above water when we took a twilight walk last evening.

Wanting to record them, can’t remember them in these specific places on our previous visits for some reason, I took my ‘big’ camera with my telephoto lens. This is held on a shoulder strap and after reaching the beach and taking lots of primrose shots I discovered that my enamel hare brooch pinned into my fleece jacket was missing.

We retraced our steps, easy on the beach as the footsteps we’re still visible but less easy on the cliff tops. I had my pictures to help locate where I’d used my camera but to no avail. I’m sure I will have pulled it off with the camera strap. Something that wouldn’t happen with my small camera.
Never mind I can take solace from the fact that it will be always here!

After coffee and lunch back at the house we headed out for our tour of the peninsula. We do this every year to see if there are any major changes and to reacquaint ourselves with the places we love.

We started at Badenscallie nearly at the end of the road. There is a pretty little pink beach, a burial ground and the remains couple of significant heritage buildings. There is a new information board promoting the Coigach and Assynt Heritage Trail explaining that this was the scene of Crofter resistance against eviction in the 1850’s. It was led by a woman, Kate Cameron and was ultimately successful leading to crofter land rights being secured under the Crofting Act. The ruined house remains are where Kate had to live when she was excluded by the land owners from the estate. It may seem to be in a pretty shore side site but apparently was regularly flooded at high tide.

We picked up a leaflet on the trail at Fisk, a lovely pottery and craft gallery at Polbain on our way round, then a stop at Old Dornie Harbour to take a look at the family boat before stopping at the Am Fuaran bar for a drink over looking the Summer Isles and to book a meal for later in the week. All is looking good.

My blip however is the lovely primroses, despite the trauma of the morning, the bottom three shots show how they tumble down the rocky coves above the sea/shore. A good day accompanied by the constant sound of the cuckoo and the trill of Skylarks. We also saw lambs being hand fed!

13,000 steps 

** Happy ending! Chris was rushing me to finish my blip so we could walk down to see the (very) high tide. I was looking round the primroses again for the brooch when Hawkeye found it on the path! Don’t know how we missed it earlier. A relief as I can now walk without looking down all the time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.