Road Trip!

A significant
birthday is celebrated
significantly

~ carliewired

I managed to sleep until 6 AM. I sat in my recliner to enjoy my big mug of coffee. I was already packed and ready to go before breakfast was made. My daughter and I had a road trip planned to celebrate my birthday today. 

We left my house just about 9, making the lookout on the TransCanada Highway above Kamloops Lake as our first stop. We looked east back to the city of Kamloops and across the road to sage, pine and yellow balsamroot. 

I had hoped to enjoy a second coffee at the Ashcroft Manor, but the restaurant wasn't open. We continued down the highway, catching the old Anglican church across the river. It's looking rather dilapidated now. I wonder how many more winters it can withstand. 

Our next stop was Spences Bridge to view the old Nlak'pamux church which also looks in poor repair. A look across the river at the same location gives a view of the Murray Creek Falls. It is the water source for the town of Spences Bridge. 

Several construction zones held us up along the highway. I pulled over for photos when I spied river rafters moving along with the current. They waved. I waved. 

I stopped again just south of Lytton to get a view into the river canyon and the snow above on the mountains. Our cold spring continues. 

We were carrying several bins to be delivered to an address in Langley, but the address given was incorrect. Luckily I had a telephone number, so managed to find the house on the second try. 

My daughter treated me to a birthday dinner in Langley at a favourite Greek restaurant. It was delicious! We rolled into our motel about 6 PM both very tired and happy to call it a day. 

We'll get a visit with my brother and some shopping as well. The weather may be wet and grey, but we came prepared. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.