Laboscope app

It was pouring with rain this morning. I could see Shadow on my swing at 4 am, so I got up and opened the study door to the garden. Shadow came rushing in. She will now go to the front room to be fed, but leaves the bungalow as soon as she has eaten. Sometimes she does a tiny explore...

I put food out under the swing for BBCat who wasn't waiting for food this morning, but he did have a couple of suppers last night, so he probably wasn't immediately hungry. Shadow came out of the bungalow and partook of some of BBCat's food, then left for whatever she does with her day, but she does come back periodically to check in with me, and also to see how the cat diner is going. And she goes up the garden path up to BBCat and says her piece to him, but BBCat just sits there with an inscrutable expression on his face. Shadow gives a flick of her tail, and goes off again.

When I came back to my bedroom with my cuppa, BBCat was feeding. He didn't eat the entire lot, and I think he is learning he doesn't need to eat everything in one go (because more food will come out), but will now leave food for the Four Mouseketeers (stray Ginger Cats).

Mr Magpie came flying in for his favourite fish cat pate, but BBCat was eating from that dish. Mr Magpie has now given up screaming at BBCat, and so satisfied himself with the selection of food on the bird table to take back to his babies.

Mr Heffalump (wood pigeon) has just crash landed on to the bird table. But he didn't eat this morning. He intently watched BBCat feeding.

Yesterday afternoon, something strange with Mr Heffalump. He flew into the garden and nearly crash landed on top of BBCat sitting on the chair by the potting shed. But he did an about turn mid-air immediately above BBCat (very gracefully for a Heffalump actually), and flew out of the garden. A moment later he was back, and nearly crash landed again on top BBCat, who took absolutely no notice at all of being attacked by a Lancaster Bomber.

Once is accidental, but twice in quick succession is a deliberate intention.

I have never seen BBCat show any aggression to any other stray cat in my garden. If he is walking, he totally ignores them. He just sits and impassively watches. Or commands the corner of my garage roof, watching everything. His size is enough to strike fear in all the other animals. The 4 ginger strays come in and sometimes go up to BBCat sitting on the garden chair and have 'words' with BBCat, but he never reacts, and never replies to them. He is an insouciable inscrutable very large black cat. Sometimes one of the Gingers will do the arched body language and hissing, as does Shadow as well, but BBCat does not react to any of them.

It is the quickest way of defusing any situation.

BBCat spent the day watching me yesterday afternoon. He would come close (for him) to around 2 metres of me, and engage in that slow eye blink 'conversation' with me. And if the food bowl is empty, he will go up to it and turn to look at me directly into my eyes. And I fill it. BBCat will interact and respond with me. At least he  knows how to interact with a human to fulfill his needs...

Also on Sunday, yesterday, my daughter in Australia and I were coming up with some names for BBCat - Cosmos, Wolf, Enigma, Jack, Midnight, Gypsy, Flint.

I read out the names to BBCat.  And I knew before I got to it which it would be. He'd come come to me as I was in my vegetable container garden. Last couple of days is the first time I have seen him groom his face and ears. His face is looking bright and alert, and the face fur looks sleek and glossy. And he does not have that sullen bad boy cat look he had when he first came and was on my garage roof. I got to the name Midnight, and he began that slow blink. So, Midnight it is. He then got on my wooden swing, and his demeanour looks much happier. It looks like he is getting his interest in life back. I think he had almost lost hope before.

Creative this morning is a dandelion clock as a kaleidoscope in Laboscope, fartnarkled a bit in Snapseed.

I have stuff to do so will peek in later.

In the meantime a cuppa!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.