gennepher

By gennepher

Holly flower

Night time Wildlife cameras
Fisticuffs at Dawn
Fox & Badger & Cats - fur goes flying

https://youtu.be/ej7S07rZSgI


The last few mornings Mr Heffalump (wood pigeon) and Mr Magpie have been having a standoff on the bird table. Yesterday the wood pigeon won. This morning the wood pigeon was victorious again and the magpie, backed away and flew off. But returned once the Magpie had gone...

In the past some years ago in a cemetery, I saw a magpie catch and kill a white dove, so I was a bit apprehensive that these two, or Mr Magpie rather, would violate the rules of this garden being safe for all birds and creatures. But the wood pigeon was assertive to the Magpie in a polite manner, just as I said yesterday to the receptionist, 'I am not moving.'

By the way, Mr Magpie feeds exclusively (for his babies) from my garden in the morning. By lunchtime there is not one scrap of food left, whether wet or dry cat food, or peanuts or whatever else. gennepher's diner is now closed until late afternoon/evening.

So, what does a Magpie do for easy pickings in the afternoon?
Easy peasy for a Magpie.

My neighbours all leave their small top windows open while they are out at work. These are all bungalows by the way.

Mr Magpie goes into the wide open top ones first, and comes out with pickings. Then he tries the closed ones. They are not closed as in locked, because the handle is upright, as in someone pulling the window too, but not pulling the handle down. Once, I observed the magpie opening one of these closed top windows. He teased and teased at it until it finally came enough ajar for him. I was sitting in my car, ready to go out. And magpie went in. I left then because the police helicopter was hovering overhead observing me sitting in my car. I am still in my driveway. I drove off, but the police helicopter followed me a mile or so down country lanes. I had then stopped the car at a church where the lady vicar ran a shop and post office. What's with the noise outside she asked? The helicopter was so low, hovering over the church. I explained the above. Right, she said, grabbing my arm, linking arms, I hate police, she said.

The next 10 minutes were hilarious. She locked the church hall as we came out. Linked arms again. Her hand gestures and language at the helicopter were not befitting of a lady vicar. And then we walked round the church and church hall 3 times widdershins. And then we went back into the church hall where I drew my money out, posted a letter, and bought some cheese.

I left, the police helicopter still hovering, but then it suddenly veered and flew off. That woman vicar really did not like police.

And yes I did warn my neighbours about leaving their top windows open, and the magpie, but they still left them open all day when they were out, and still do.

So, that is your funny story for today...

Creative is my Holly. It is absolutely full of flowers. But I never get any sprigs of Holly with berries on for Xmas because the birds eat them all...
I have done this in iPatel, and then finished off in Procreate for the finer stamens in one of the flowers.

Turning all my devices off now. Sun is out. Garden calls...loudly...

Have your best kind of day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.