Red Damselflies

I think these are large red damselflies rather than the small ones. The first I've seen in my pond this year. I've added an Extra of one of the blue tit parents flying from the nest box - not a fast enough shutter speed, but at least I caught it in flight. I'd been out in the garden weeding my raised bed and re-sowing lettuce and spring onion seeds as the others didn't germinate - too dry I suspect despite periodic watering. The raised bed is close to the bird box, but me being there didn't put the parents off for long - too many mouths to feed. I think there are 10 or 11 chicks, difficult to tell as some of the chicks are twice the size of others and climb all over them.  All have their eyes open now and the biggest ones can just about lever themselves out of the bowl part of the nest when it gets too hot and are starting to flap their wings. It was hot and sunny for most of the day today, despite the forecast for storms which we missed, although we did get 0.4mm of rain overnight. A good soaking would have been good for the garden though. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.