WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Is it a bee?

No, it's a bee orchid! The municipal employee who looks after the green spaces insisted on giving me a guided tour of the four different types of orchids he has carefully mowed round in the lawn outside the gite complex. Most of them had gone over while we were away, but this one was still quite perky. They are so pretty.

I had plenty of photo opportunities yesterday, but no inspiration. Neither of us felt like cooking, so we lunched in the lovely garden of the Bonbonne in Saint Laurent. In the evening I went to my English book group in slight trepidation over my choice of Riddley Walker. I love this book just as much on second reading and I didn't want them to hate it. I needn't have worried: everyone (at least those who turned up!) found it interesting and rewarding even if they didn't understand what was going on. And they were pleased to have read something that's nothing like the books we normally choose. So that raises the bar for my next choice. It was a lovely evening chez A, with delicious Indian nibbles. A good day!

Today has been lazier, but I did manage to make a tarte à la moutarde for lunch, and go out for a short walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.