Toys In The Attic

I never did manage to collect a full set of these Meerkat toys. There was a time when I stopped using “Compare the Market” because it was too much hassle to keep chopping and changing insurances. By the time I went back to shopping around each year, the reward offer had changed to two-for-one movie tickets, which I wasn’t that bothered about.
I put these up in the loft a couple of years ago, just before we started redecorating the house. As you may recall from previous blips, that process dragged on until recently, mainly due to the pandemic, and there is now nowhere to display them. A quick search on eBay reveals that they are not collectors items, worth hundreds of pounds - as I had secretly hoped!
So I lined them up, took some photos and put them on the FB Sell and Seek site - £10 the lot. Two hours later and they’ve been sold and collected. The lad who came and picked them up, on behalf of his mum, was heard to mutter something about not knowing what the hell she wanted with them, but that’s his problem now, not mine lol!
Actually, to be completely honest, I didn’t get rid of all of them. They did a limited edition one to tie in with the relaunch of the Star Wars movies, and I have put that away in a cupboard in the hope it will become a valuable collectable of the future. You may scoff, but I remember thinking the same about the Nat West pigs. And the rarer versions of those are now selling for silly money. Got to be a better bet than bitcoin, surely?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.