Ecstasy

I have had a nice day. So there!

My plan was to spend all day photographing birds.

But my plan changed slightly as there were no small birds. Whatsoever. 

Have they all gone to Skegness for their holidays?
But the compensation was the feverish activity of a pair of very focused woodpeckers. 

As I suspected on my previous woodpecker blip (Woodie, 17th April this year) we have a male and female feeding chicks. I think I know where the nest is but I stay well clear. Leave them be. 

But if they are going to partake of my hospitality at the feeders then they are a captive audience! Or am I the audience... I give in. 

Anyway, mummy is working hard and took time out at the watering hole. A few precious moments to drink and refresh. 

Her expression was pure ecstasy. 

Dad continued to gather food and in the cropped image (extra) his beak is packed with peanuts and suet. What a feast for growing youngsters. 

For me, a good day. 

SIL reports a good night's sleep and feels rested. Reconciled to the fact that she is on a journey. Scans, operation, post op care and further treatment. She knows she is in good hands, and we will all do what we can to support. 

Cancer... What a bastard. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.