New Flower

An iris, raised from seed received with the name Iris pontica but looking more like the closely related Iris graminea, the Grass-leaved Iris.  It's a bit tall for Iris pontica according to what I read but not quite the same as what I once grew as Iris graminea in the past.  The first flowers appeared in the garden today.  There are more to come and whatever the name it's a nice addition to the garden.

A day of two halves.  A busy day to start with.   I dropped the car at the garage where we'd arranged to meet C and her Meg.   A companionable walk down Gwalia and back across the marshes, sharing thoughts and life experiences.  Walking and talking reminds me of Kelvyn, aka Intothehills whose blips often feature the Wellness Walks that he leads.   Returning home after our walk I headed for the allotment.   Carrot, Swede and Spinach seed planted and an hours digging before I tweaked my back and retired home for lunch.   Mid afternoon the car was ready, the air conditioning, so important for my regular passengers, finally fixed.   Hooray!! 

Then I was overtaken by lethargy, a lingering effect of the virus I had last week so I took it easy for the rest of the day.   Forty winks on the sofa with Meg, cooked bolognese at Jamie's for us and Katie .... then another forty winks after!     Talking can be good therapy, sleep is good medicine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.