CrocusMan

By TonyG

Cooked Fish!

My seahorses and fish have been through the kiln and all seem to have survived the experience.  (Here's a reminder of how they looked before the firing.) I am quite pleased with how they've turned out even if, as always, I'd do it slightly differently next time.  Next I'll mount them for display so you'll likely get to see them again in due course :-)

A day of pottery and gardening mostly.  This morning I made it to one of the community sessions.  Nice to meet a new potter as well as some familiar friends.  Getting things done always takes longer when the place is busy, not that we get in each others way, just the chat that slows us down.  I started glazing the first of my daffodil candle holders.  I've now made five but two met with accidents.  The first was simply too fragile, the second met an untimely end when I foolishly left Meg in the car alone with it for a minute!  This third one has also proved fragile with several petals detaching but should be fine as if the glaze doesn't fuse it back together, glue will.  After lunch I returned with Jamie and applied glaze to the flower while Jamie completed something he's been working on.  

The increasingly long hours of daylight are a godsend, so much more time for outdoor activities.  After potting this afternoon I had an hour or so on the allotment, weeding and watering.  Only potatoes and onions so far but they'll be joined by broccoli, beans, carrots and squashes in due course.   Back home for tea then still time to mix up a small batch of hypertufa and complete the coating on my new raised bed walls, made from cut down polystyrene boxes.  

After all this, at 9pm, it was still light when Meg and I set out on our walk.  We spent almost an hour, mostly down by the sea, returning in the gloaming for supper, a chat with Ruth - who is finally feeling a bit better - and before bed, Blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.