From the years BC

BC. Before Children

One of the oldest plants I grow - and one of the toughest. It came as ‘Rhodiola species’ seed collected on the Alpine Garden Society expedition to China in 1994, a joint trip involving Chinese and UK botanists, the seed collected under license and shared between subscribers and AGS members. A succulent that dies away in winter to what is now a gnarled woody rootstock. It’s a toughie having survived so many years, often rather neglected.

A lovely walk with C and the Megs this morning, including a little sit down while I took a call from one of the services supporting Ruth. Disappointed that after lunch I needed a snooze before setting off to Birmingham but I felt the benefit of it on my drive. Raining hard here now. Ruth’s had plenty of rain … we’re still waiting for more in the west.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.