Why Not? ...

"Because it is a special quilt my mom made, and it is not meant for cat-napping!"

Today seemed to be the right time to switch quilts again in the living room..Out with the red, and in with something more spring-like. In rummaging through my quilt collection, I came across this wonderful appliquéd Iris quilt my mom made back in 1980...I have had it for decades but have never used it or displayed it..It was never on a bed in case of cats, and I didn't hang it because I wasn't sure how to do that.

The quilt has a scalloped edge so making a sleeve didn't seem like the best way to do it..but today I decided I might try that anyway unless  I couldn't find a better way. I brought it down to the living room to experiment with different methods, but got side-tracked by a visit from neighbour so left it sitting on the back of the sofa.

Of course, Maggie discovered it and immediately claimed it as hers!  I caught her napping on it and this is the expression I was given when I asked her to move!  Like, "Why? I have always been able to nap wherever I please!" 

Well, Maggie, because this is a special quilt..My mother made it..she did all the painstaking appliqué by hand and then quilted the entire quilt by hand..it is a piece of art..a labour of love, a family heirloom and it doesn't need claw rips and hairball stains on it!  If I can get it up  on the wall, you can enjoy it from afar,  just like the rest of us...There will be an especially good view of it from your favourite napping spot on the back of the sofa...

Maggie was not pleased. Right now she is sulking in her second favourite chair, head turned away, back toward me... I am in the dog house...and the quilt is safely stowed until tomorrow..

It is SO hard to reason with a cat....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.