Castle Couture

This afternoon saw our u3a's outing (normally an annual event but the first since I joined). It was to Blair Castle where there were displays of clothes found in the attic set up in different rooms. Hours of works must have gone into many of the dresses and there was even a copy of a contract for a seamstress from Perth who came and stayed at castle for two years to instruct one of the servants in dressmaking.  Some the dresses looked very heavy - it couldn't have been fun wearing them. 

The archivist had come and spoken to our u3a in May and it was interesting to see the pieces she had spoken about. She also came down and said hello to us and told us a bit more about some of the displays.  

All in all a very enjoyable afternoon - although the castle occupied us so much that we didn't have time to explore the gardens.  I decided to get a season ticket so we can go back again and again.

Wednesdays is also my yoga class day and I especially enjoyed todays - a really good combination of movement and stretching which really loosened my shoulders. It takes place in the Moulin Hall and I love how I can look out the windows and see sheep in the fields and also the ruins of another castle (Caisteal Dubh). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.