Acts of deliberate notice

By Yaviere

Shades of blue

Struggling mentally today. I feel like every time I get back on the right track, my mental energy drops to zero and I am left in a weird limbo between too apathetic to invest time in anything, but too guilt-ridden about wasting time to feel okay with that. 

At these times I know I should practice self-care and understanding. We all have bad days and that is a fact of life. My unhappy brain doesn't like listening to common sense though and takes some convincing. 

The best cure is always to do something, so I forced myself to take this photo of a ribbon I am adding to my new sunhat. In the process I have learnt that peacocks in Hindu mythology symbolise compassion, kindness and patience; in Buddhism, they are connected to openness and thriving in the face of suffering; on Roman coins, they symbolise female imperial power; and in many cultures, the eyes of peacock feathers are said to ward off evil. 

Seems appropriate and necessary for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.