The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Riders on the Storm

When is a street blip not a street blip?
When the street is a road across Minchinhampton Common

CleanSteve picked me up from my second job, and whisked me away to the common, where he wanted to look at a dew pond. I wandered around looking at the closed-down buildings of Amberley Ridge special school, and wondering why the sun wasn't shining on the common when it was in Stroud. Tried a skeleton tree with various ISOs, and now cannot remember which was which! Eventually I got so tired I lay down on the edge of the common, just near the road, but away from the golf course. From there I had a badger's eye view of traffic passing on its way home from work. It was rush hour minus the cows, which don't get let out on the commons for another month. This parade of vans was my favourite. For some reason it reminded me of my one and only trip to Estonia in 1990, when the potholed highways swayed and rattled to the wheel music of retro 1950s trucks.

CleanSteve came back, and compared me to roadkill ( my, that man knows how to pay a compliment!) and we drove home. An hour later, I went out to babysit. I've now done the moshi-monster-iPad-games-bead-making-by-hand-and-colouring-and-speaking-to-the-green-party-candidate number, and am greatly in need of wine and, yes, more wine!

Tomorrow I take to the railway lines, to see the Bristol Artists' Books Exhibition at the Arnolfini. Watch this space... is a railway scene also a street scene?

Thanks for all the stars and comments or yesterday's blip. All very much appreciated, and I am trying to catch up, still...

Riders on the Storm original

Another on-the-road song, Tom Waits this time

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.