The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Tulip time

CleanSteve and I were discussing this morning whether to go to a tulip festival at a big house/grounds in Poshtershire. I wasn't keen: I felt the estate needs a 'country house rescue" type of makeover before it can be attractive, rather than a sad place sliding into debt and decay. The last time we went, everything seemed neglected, forlorn.

On my way into town, possibly because of the tulip-talk, I noticed this bright display outside our local NHS hospital. Knew that I had to blip them, even though I was late for my meeting with a friend at the Lock Keeper's cafe. Communication with her en route is difficult, because I cannot hear her from my phone, even though she can hear me, and her texts to me go into my spambox every time! Nonetheless, we managed to meet and have a cup of tea, before heading round some shops together.

I finished at Waitrose, where I bought the ingredients for a Gluten-free vegan Simnel cake. I hope it is edible! Our Waitrose has been newly poshed up and completely made over, so I have to re learn the layout. Always a challenge... I hoped I might find some half price or smashed Easter eggs along the way somewhere, but no, everything is still full price: I even saw some for £15! That is an expensive piece of cardboard and plastic!

Now I am at home, the cake is in the oven, CleanSteve has gone a-snapping (kingfishers, if he is lucky) and the sun is shining at last. It was cold this morning, but my game leg is no longer hurting, so all's well.

The Centre Christian Bookshop is closing down after 33 years. I am sorry about that: another independent bookstore bites the dust. I used to send customers there from the Stroud Bookshop sometimes, or the gift shop at Prinknash Abbey, where I once worked, if we did not have the books or items they wanted. I wonder what will take its place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.