The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Up Close

I was still tinkering with the Simnel cake at 10.30 last night! If you want an Easy life, I suggest not opting for the gluten free vegan version. Next time I will use the eggs and butter, with g-f flour and xanthan gum, and omit the layer of marzipan baked into the cake!

Later, there was a very good programme about 50 years of music on BBC2 (it never ceases to amaze me that I, and BBC 2, and Top of the Pops are all the same age, or at least TOTP would be....) so we did not get to bed until late. It was dreadfully cold.

Today dawned dreich and dark as November, but we had arranged to meet blipper Horrigans and her twochildren on Selsley common, for a walk and frisbee fling. I wore a woollen hat to complement my sun tan, and gloves. Even still, I was chilly, but we walked briskly, stopping only for leaf-fights, and building stone towers in the old quarry. There were no views as such, so I have chosen this one of the children gazing up at the pylon, which looks so weathered that it might be made of wood. I've given it the retro treatment, because there's something so old fashioned about getting so close to live electricity: aren't they mainly fenced off these days?

Now I am back at home with the fire lit, watching Greyfriars Bobby, of all things! In a while I will cook our Easter lunch (fish again; Cornish sardines yesterday, salmon today) so we can devote the rest of the day to watching DVDS or films and loafing around. It's too cold and wet for any more traditional Easter pursuits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.