An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

And now, the end is near...

Final day of our Hebridean adventure.  The two weeks have gone by I a blink!

David got up and headed to the driving range for an hour then stopped at the local barber for a haircut on the way back.  I started gathering things together to pack.  Boo hoo.

After lunch we popped out to a couple of shops to buy some gifts, then back to the wee shop at Lews Castle as I had seen a necklace made of Hebridean sea glass that I really liked but didn't buy the other day.  Bought a few other things too, mainly gifts, and treated ourselves to a watercolour print of a Harris Gin bottle for the Gin Palace, and a tea towel.  Woo hoo!  

The entrance to the shop it via the cafe so of course we had to stop and have coffee and cake :-))

The weather was pretty awful but we went for a final drive (it started to clear up) 

There are so many abandoned houses on these islands, each with their own story to tell.  I could spend days photographing them.  This one, like many of them, caught my attention because it is such a substantial house and I can imagine it restored, in all its glory.  It seems such a sad waste.

Back to the house and there was no putting it off any longer, packing had to be done.  It didn't take very long at all.

We enjoyed our final dinner and cheered up a little when D received a text from An Lanntair confirming our lunch booking tomorrow, so we will end our holiday as we began, having lunch at the local arts centre.

Now just getting my last two blips uploaded before heading to bed.  

This has been a wonderful holiday.  I have enjoyed every minute.  We visited for a week the last time and it wasn't long enough.  This time we've been here for two weeks and it's still not long enough.  I'm beginning to realise that I could happily spend months here!  

That Hebridean magic has cast a spell on me :-)

PS I posted a photo on the Lewis FB page of a house (not an abandoned house :-) I photographed on Wednesday on our visit to the beaches in the south west of Lewis.  A lady left a comment saying she loved the photo and it was her grandparent's house and is still in the family.  Turns out she lives 20 minutes from us!  It's a small world! 

The herring girl and the fisherman


Happy Birthday mum...you would love it here.   I know the spirit and beauty and history of these islands would move you to tears, as they do me.  Miss you every single day x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.